MJHL Announces Award Nominees Brakel and Leipsic with the Nod

Nominees for the MJHL’s six major awards have been finalized, Commissioner Kim Davis announced today.

“Each team submitted a nominee for the awards and the league’s 11 coaches subsequently conducted a vote,” explained Davis. “Each of the nominees should be very proud of their accomplishment.”

The Terriers have nominees in two categories this year.

First is the MVP Award – Steve “Boomer” Hawrysh Memorial Trophy. Chase Brakel is among the finalists along with Mackenzie Graham of the Steinbach Pistons and Brady Keeper of the OCN Blizzard. * Former Terrier Captain Brad Bowles was last year’s recipient.

Chase currently leads the league in goals with 34 and third overall averaging 1.4 points a game. Chase is a leader on the Terriers wearing the A this year and logging big minutes playing on both the powerplay and penalty kill.

Next up is the Hockey Ability and Sportsmanship Award – Lorne “Windy” Lyndon Memorial Trophy. Jeremey Leipsic is among the finalists for this award along with Scott Gall of the Winkler Flyers and Justin Metcalf of the Neepawa Natives.

Jeremey sits atop the leader board and has for most of the season averaging 1.7 points a game with 93 points total. 63 of those points come as assists as Jeremey is known as a playmaker. In 55 games played, Leipsic has just 12 penalty minutes.

Coach and GM Blake Spiller – “Chase logs  lot of important minutes for our club and it appears as though Jeremey is going to win the scoring race and at this point has only 12 pims. Both guys would be deserving of the league awards they are nominated for.”

The respective winners will be announced later this week. The Mike Ridley Award, given to league’s top point producer, will be known when the regular season comes to an end.