Terriers Finish up Season with a Win over Wayway

The Terriers finished up their regular season last night at Stride Place beating the last place Wolverines 5-2.

After a slow first that saw the Dogs outshoot the Wolverines 20-5, Wayway led 1-0.

11 seconds into the second period Ty Barnstable evened the score at one and the Terriers went on to score 4 more in the next 20 minutes.  Williams, Dwyer, Roy and McIsaac all with individual markers.

Barnstable scores 11 seconds into the 2nd.
Williams combined for 3 points on the night.

The third period was a rough one starting with a Hulme, Oliver fight that saw both ejected from the game. With Portage getting the extra minor for instigating, Bestul capitalized on the powerplay for Wayway. Garnham and Poirier followed suit  with a bout of their own minutes later. Just passed the halfway point, Portages’ Braden Billaney received a match penalty for slashing after being speared by Drew Anderson.

Hulme and Oliver go at it in the 3rd.

The period settled down from there, the Terriers unable to score the 6th goal that would see their fans all leave with a coupon for free cookies in the Subway Score 6 Saturday promotion.

Brock Aiken picked up the win in net facing just 17 shots in the outing. Wayway’s Labelle faced 51.

With the win, the Terriers finish with 82 points, one point behind the Virden Oil Capitals putting them in 3rd place. Portage will face off against the  Winnipeg Blues in round one of the playoffs this Friday at 7:30pm at Stride Place.

Hardware Handed Out at Last Night’s Game

Kevin Saurette, Director of Operations for the MJHL was on hand last night to hand out the All Star Awards to Portage’s recipients.

Named to the first All Star team was defenceman Mackenzie Dwyer.

Chase Brakel and Jeremey Leipsic both forwards named to the 2nd All Star Team

Dale Deschouwer from Portage Co-op presented the Terriers Fan Favorite award as voted on by the fans to rookie Joey Moffatt.

Jason Bond of Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries presented the February Player of the Month award to Turner Ripplinger.