Terriers Hold Annual Awards Banquet

Tonight the Terrier Ladies Auxiliary held the Annual Terriers Award Banquet. It was a great mixture of fans, parents, billets and sponsors honoring a team that has had another incredible season.

Coach and GM Blake Spiller thanked all in attendance as well as all the behind the scenes people that make the Terrier Organization what it is. No stranger to sitting in the top spot heading into the post season, the MJHL Coach of the year said the goal remains unchanged from the regular season. Let’s win the next game.

This years Captain Ty Barnstable started off by thanking parents, billets and staff and then remarked about the love he had for his fellow teammates. The hard work is about to begin and we’re going to take it a game at a time.

The Awards

• Rookie of the Year sponsored by the Stinson Family                                      • Owen Murray

• Best Defenceman sponsored by Keystone Sports Excellance                    •Caelan McPhee

• Most Improved Player sponsored by Stride Credit Union                             • Lane Taylor

• Top Scorer in Memory of Art Wilkinson                                                                  • Joey Moffatt

• MVP for Central Plains                                                                                                       • Reilly Funk

• Best Defensive Forward sponsored by Golden West Radio                        • Reece Henry

• Sportsmanship With Ability sponsored by Dr. Brian Graham                    • Ty Barnstable

• Community Spirit Award sponsored by the Spiller Family                             • Peyton Gorski , Reece Henry, Jay Buchholz

•Best Defensive Defenceman in Memory of Brendan Nichol                       • Sam Huston

•Portage Minor Hockey Scholarship sponsored by PMHA                             • Jared Roy

• Award of Commitment and Dedication in Memory of Doug Connery                                                                                                                                         • Scott Mickoski, Chase Brakel, Jared Roy and Ty Barnstable

• Outstanding Team Player sponsored by Towering Enterprises               • Ty Barnstable

• Most Valuable Player sponsored by Shoppers Drug Mart                           • Ty Barnstable

• Veteran Awards sponsored by Ladies Auxiliary                                                  •Chase Brakel – 4 years,  Scott Miskoski, Jared Roy –  3 years, Braden Billaney – 2 years,  Morgan Poirier – 1 year

• Fan Appreciation sponsored by Homestead Co-op                                         •Reilly Funk

• Geno Romanow Award of Dedication sponsored by Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries                                                                                                                     • Joyce Hay