Co-Chair Dave Patsack, Terriers President Dave Koroscil and MJHL Commissioner Kim Davis.

Terriers Set to Host National Championship in 2020

The Terriers held a press conference this afternoon along with the Commissioner of the MJHL representing Hockey Canada to announce the National Championship is coming back to Portage.

Co-chairs Dave Patsack and Dale Deschouwer were on hand along with Terriers President Dave Koroscil to make the announcement.

Portage hosted and won the RBC Cup in front of a packed house in May 2015 and they will get the chance again in 2020.

The Cup’s name may change, but the significance stays the same.  The annual tournament determines the Canadian Junior A Champion.  Back in 1970 Manitoba donated the Centennial Cup for the first year of the Championship and Hockey Canada thought it was a great idea to return to Manitoba in 2020 for the 50th anniversary of the Championship.

MJHL Commissioner Kim Davis

Terriers President Dave Koroscil

Co Chair Dave Patsack

GM Stride Place David Sattler

The tournament encompasses a 5 team round robin tournament made up of four regional champions and a host team.

Fred Page Cup: Eastern Division

Dudley Hewitt Cup: Central Champion

Anavet Cup: Western Champion

Doyle Cup: Pacific Champion

Host Team: Predetermined by the CJHL