The MHJL Announces Nominees for League Awards 3 Terriers Recognized

Nominees for the MJHL’s six major awards have been finalized, Commissioner Kim Davis announced today.

“Each team submitted a nominee for the awards and the league’s 11 coaches subsequently conducted a vote,” explained Davis. “Each of the nominees should be very proud of their accomplishment.”

The respective winners and league all-stars will be announced later this week. The Mike Ridley Award, given to league’s top point producer, will be known when the regular season comes to an end.

The Terriers have received nominations in the following 3 categories.

Rookie of the Year Award – Vince Leah Trophy
Owen Murray Portage Terriers
Colby Jaquet Selkirk Steelers
Drake Burgin Winkler Flyers

Hockey Ability and Sportsmanship Award – Frank McKinnon Memorial Trophy
Tony Apetagon Winnipeg Blues
Ben Dalke Virden Oil Capitals
Ty Barnstable Portage Terriers

Coach of the Year Award – Portage Terriers “Muzz McPherson” Award
Paul Dyck Steinbach Pistons
Blake Spiller Portage Terriers
Barry Wolff Swan Valley Stampeders

Murray reflects on the nod. ` It`s nice to be mentioned as one of the top rookies in the league. I am lucky to have great players around me, helping me get better every day. I look forward to building off this next year. `

Congratulations to Owen Murray, Ty Barnstable and Blake Spiller on being recognized in their individual categories.

Click here a list of all the nominees,