Terriers Release Retro Logo

The Terriers are proud of their rich heritage in the community of Portage la Prairie and are excited to release a new “retro” style logo.

Hockey in Portage la Prairie dates back to the early 1900’s with the junior team being called the Terriers as early as 1932. A number of players from the early years went on to play in the NHL, including Rick Blight, Lin Bend, and Bryan Hextall. The team won the Memorial Cup (National Championship) in 1942, but unfortunately after WWII the team disbanded in 1947.

After 20 years the Terriers were legally incorporated in 1967 and joined the Central Manitoba Junior Hockey League which became the MJHL. The Terriers have been playing in Portage ever since. The past 50+ seasons have seen great success for the team including 2 more national championships and 12 league titles.

If you would like to get a hat or toque with the new logo please email Marketing Director Cody Buhler at portageterriers@outlook.com.

(Sample photos)